Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Fans of Patrice Kindl's Keeping the Castle or Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer's Sorcery and Cecelia will adore this funny Regency-era mystery about a determined young woman with a magical trick up her sleeve . . .

The year is 1818, the city is London, and 16-year-old Annis Whitworth has just learned that her father is dead and all his money is missing. And so, of course, she decides to become a spy.

Annis always suspected that her father was himself a spy, and following in his footsteps to unmask his killer makes perfect sense. Alas, it does not make sense to England's current spymasters--not even when Annis reveals that she has the rare magical ability to sew glamours: garments that can disguise the wearer completely.

Well, if the spies are too pigheaded to take on a young woman of quality, then Annis will take them on. And so she crafts a new double life for herself. Miss Annis Whitworth will appear to live a quiet life in a country cottage with her aunt, and Annis-in-disguise as Madame Martine, glamour artist, will open a magical dressmaking shop. That way she can earn a living, maintain her social standing, and, in her spare time, follow the coded clues her father left behind and unmask his killer.

It can't be any harder than navigating the London social season, can it?

" Murder, Magic, and What We Wore blew my bonnet off. Kelly Jones has found a fresh way to share the delights of the magical regency. I truly love this book!" --Caroline Stevermer, coauthor of Sorcery & Cecilia, or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot

"A deliciously enchanting adventure full of magic, mystery and delight." --Stephanie Burgis, author of Kat, Incorrigible
Publisher: New York :, Alfred A. Knopf,, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780553535204
055353520X
Characteristics: 293 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top