The Witchfinder's Sister

The Witchfinder's Sister

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
"1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives. But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names. To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him? And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan? Based on a true story, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Miniaturist and Burial Rites."--From publisher.
Publisher: London :, Viking,, 2017.
ISBN: 9780241978030
0241978033
Characteristics: 353 pages : map ; 23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Cynthia_N Nov 04, 2017

Enjoyable read. In the epilogue the author gives the information that Matthew Hopkins was a real person. She does state that the book is very loosely based on him and that she took great literary liberties for the sake of the story but it did make me like the book just a touch more!

***Kind of Spoiler***

I just knew that Alice's condition was going to get her in trouble! I was very sad about the circumstances that changed it but I was glad it did not become an issue.

m
miraellie
Aug 14, 2017

Starts off strong, but then by the middle and end becomes a little meandering. I did enjoy the relationships between the women, and there were some legitimately creepy moments. The very last sentence ruined a LOT of the book for me, though, because it was just so unnecessarily cliche. You can probably guess it without even reading the novel, that's how cliche it was.

I'll be looking for Underdown's next novel, though, as this one was strong enough to merit that.

j
jmalone13
Jun 11, 2017

I highly recommend this book. Wish I could find more like it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top