By Chance Alone

By Chance Alone

A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel's Night and Primo Levi's Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor

Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous "death march" in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor "Max" Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family's yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world.

The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

Publisher: New York :, HarperCollins Canada,, 2016.
ISBN: 9781443448550
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file,rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mygirl1
Apr 17, 2017

This is an excellent read, describes what really happened to the jews in these death camps and how he survived at the early age of 15yrs. old he really tells it how how it was and you just can`t put the book down as you want to know what the next page brings! I highly recommend this book!

b
Butterfly121761
Aug 26, 2016

He promised his father he'd tell the story. I'm glad he was able to tell his story, sorry for the suffering he had to endure to tell the story. This was the most haunting Nazi camp story I have read. It tore at my heart. He told the before, during and after and at times it was hard to believe that something like this really could have happened. Teaches us how much we have to be grateful for and don't take anything for granted and respect and love all mankind.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top