The Beat Goes on

The Beat Goes on

The Complete Rebus Stories

Large Print - 2016 | Large print edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
There is no detective like Ian Rankin's Detective Inspector John Rebus, a man The New Yorker calls "the ideal sleuth."
Brilliant, irascible and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. THE BEAT GOES ON collects all of Ian Rankin's Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before published tales written specifically for this collection.
From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in "Dead and Buried," right up to his dramatic, but not quite final, retirement in "The Very Last Drop," Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction's most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. In these gripping, fast-paced tales, the legendary Scottish detective investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty, including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, an audacious jewel heist, suspicious happenings at a nursing home, and an ominous email that brings a family's darkest secrets to light.
THE BEAT GOES ON is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove--a must-have book for crime fiction aficionados and a superb introduction for anyone looking to experience DI John Rebus, and the dark, twist-filled crimes he investigates.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine :, Thorndike Press,, 2016.
Edition: Large print edition.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781410485861
Characteristics: 877 pages


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

LibraryChatters Nov 20, 2015

I love John Rebus, but am greatly disappointed in Mr. Rankin. These short stories have absolutely no bite. Read a few, but could not force myself to continue. I hope Even Dogs in the Wild returns with Rankin's usual magnificent writing.

Dec 28, 2014

I have to agree with the synopsis.This is an outstanding collection ; as a rule I don't enjoy short stories but these are the exception. Ian Rankin is a remarkable writer of Scottish crime fiction. To finally have all these Rebus stories within one cover is a privilege for his many readers.

Nov 25, 2014

There are only a few new short stories in this book. I agree with other commenters - short stories don't really work for Rebus - the conclusions are too simple and sudden.

Will there be another Rebus novel or is he too old now?

Nov 17, 2014

Rankin fans will want to read this collection of short stories featuring Rebus. I myself prefer the Rebus novels to this short story collection. The longer short stories interested me, but I found the solution in the shorter ones came too abruptly. Several plots of the short stories seemed familiar as well and then in the back I discovered why. Here Rankin credits his novels from which they came from.

Nov 05, 2014

If you like Rebus, you'll enjoy these short stories! Easier to follow the plot than in the novels but the same fascinating twists. Julie

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at MPL

To Top