The Accidental Alchemist

The Accidental Alchemist

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

From USA Todaybestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can't help but notice she's picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle--not to mention a master of French cuisine--and he needs Zoe's expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who's trying to put her old life behind her, isn't so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past . . . until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

"This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia."--RT BOOK REVIEWS 1/2

"Pandian . . . launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery."--LIBRARY JOURNAL

"[A] lighthearted supernatural mystery . . . Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."--MYSTERY SCENE

"What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality . . . Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with."--RT BOOK REVIEWS ONLINE

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian's pen never disappoints."--JULIET BLACKWELL, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE WITCHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES

"Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest . . . fantastic."--PORTLAND BOOK REVIEW

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!" --AVERY AAMES, AKA DARYL WOOD GERBER, AUTHOR OF THE CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo!" --VICTORIA LAURIE, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

"Readers won't want to put this book down."--Vegetarian Journal

Publisher: Woodbury, Minnesota :, Midnight Ink,, [2015]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780738741840
Characteristics: viii, 350 pages.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
Sherrie36
Feb 21, 2015

This is a really good book to pick up because you will not want to put it back down. The author is good and keeps one in suspense to the end.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top