The Crooked House

The Crooked House

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard , this stunning psychological thriller from the author of The Loving Husband follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?
Publisher: London :, Sphere,, 2015.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780751556995
Characteristics: 403 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lpreston214
Aug 31, 2016

I agree with most other reviewers that this book started out great but got bogged down towards the end. Still I felt the main character was believable and this was not another book that made the police look dumb. I think in real life they would have reached the same conclusion, even though it turned out wrong. All in all a worth-while read.

i
ItsJustAmy
Apr 18, 2016

It had the same problems that many modern Gothic novels have - just too many characters and forced twisty plot lines.

That said, I read it all in one or two sittings.

4
4catsdogs
Mar 02, 2016

The first half of the book went well, but then the plot was all over the place, with the heroine racing around frantically as the reader became increasingly confused. Character development was shallow and many of the characters could have been interchangeable. It got to the stage where I just didn't care who had done it; I wasn't invested in the characters and the endless repetition of the murder scenario was annoying.

u
ulana2001
Feb 01, 2016

As a psychological thriller, it was really hard to put down once I started to read it.
Towards the end of the tale I felt that it was too confusing and I had a hard time following what I consider to be a very important part of a book, the ending!

c
chamc01
Jan 30, 2016

Had to finish it in one sitting. A bit like The Girl on the Train but much more empathetic heroine and more satisfying ending.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top