Born Survivors

Born Survivors

Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope

Book - 2015 | First U.S. edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too--a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer's Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied death to give their children life.

Eastern Europe, 1944: Three women believe they are pregnant, but are torn from their husbands before they can be certain. Rachel is sent to Auschwitz, unaware that her husband has been shot. Priska and her husband travel there together, but are immediately separated. Also at Auschwitz, Anka hopes in vain to be reunited with her husband. With the rest of their families gassed, these young wives are determined to hold on to all they have left--their lives, and those of their unborn babies. Having concealed their condition from infamous Nazi doctor Josef Mengele, they are forced to work and almost starved to death, living in daily fear of their pregnancies being detected by the SS.

In April 1945, as the Allies close in, Priska gives birth. She and her baby, along with Anka, Rachel, and the remaining inmates, are sent to Mauthausen concentration camp on a hellish seventeen-day train journey. Rachel gives birth on the train, and Anka at the camp gates. All believe they will die, but then a miracle occurs. The gas chamber runs out of Zyklon-B, and as the Allied troops near, the SS flee. Against all odds, the three mothers and their newborns survive their treacherous journey to freedom.

On the seventieth anniversary of Mauthausen's liberation from the Nazis by American soldiers, renowned biographer Wendy Holden recounts this extraordinary story of three children united by their mothers' unbelievable--yet ultimately successful--fight for survival.

Publisher: New York, NY :, Harper,, [2015]
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780062370259
0062370251
Characteristics: xiv, 385 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
banjocat
Sep 08, 2018

Damn good book, thoroughly enjoyed it. Very hard to put down.

k
koiishi22
Jul 05, 2018

"We all try to live our lives as best we can and to fill those shoes that are so empty. In memory of their memories, each new day is a promise."

teddypawz Jun 08, 2016

As I read about these magnificent ladies', I kept asking myself if I could be that strong. The willpower of mankind can truly be amazing! 5 stars

c
carol507
Nov 14, 2015

Excellent written book - very intense!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top