The Home Place

The Home Place

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family's life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister's death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she'd left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

Publisher: New York :, William Morrow,, [2014]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062323446
006232344X
Characteristics: x, 289 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
marymc2
Jul 27, 2015

Dark and depressing!

t
thomqui
Apr 06, 2015

Wonderful use of description really made me feel I was in Montana and good characterization and good twists kept the story alive. Hope for more from this author

JCLHelenH Feb 09, 2015

The farther Alma digs into her recently deceased sister's life, the more she learns about her own. This is an engaging story of family secrets, first loves, and coming home again.

c
caj1222204441801
Sep 11, 2014

its a heartwarming story of comi ng back home and finding nothing has changed. but, a land hungry person trying to ibuy all mineral rights for a dime on the dollar. alma loses a sister and when she finds the reason why its an eye opener. a great read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top