Dollbaby

Dollbaby

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
"When Ibby Bell's father dies in a tragic accident in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother, Fannie, and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's Victorian house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum every once in a while-- is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, her black cook, Queenie--who has run Fannie's household ever since it was Fannie's household--and Queenie's feisty daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets. For Fannie's own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Garden District mansion. It will take Ibby's arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby's hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Pamela Dorman Books/Viking,, 2014.
ISBN: 9780670014736
0670014737
Characteristics: x, 337 pages : map

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI Feb 07, 2017

Read this with a big glass of sweet tea. Perfect for fans of "The Help" or anyone needing a little extra Southern in their life.

c
CRAIGEEJ
Jul 13, 2015

Far Better than "The Help"a book the narrator didn't need to interview the maids about (as if she never heard her mama treating 'em like crap ...but fo real tho) the origins of DollBaby was a bit contrived for my taste but hey gotta have a gimmick right the missed opportunity for an interracial relationship coulda went either way but I'm glad it just glossed over it for friendship the story was all over the place at times but yet endearing and made one lose ones-self in a sweet time and place unless you were Black.

m
micro1039
Jun 27, 2015

Excellent read! You are taken back into a time that is a blending of the old and new South with traditions and philosophies. The ending truly took me by surprise!

g
genepy
Aug 19, 2014

This novel reminded me of "The Help" and was as excellent : a captivating story taking place in the 60-70's in New-Orleans with engaging characters, a well constructed plot , a poignant historical background . The reader is plunged into the atmosphere of the times : music, cultural traditions ( for ex you learn that you can trap evil spirits with blue glass bottles...) , typical food,
parties...dramatic but delightful.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top