The Illusionists

The Illusionists

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
London 1870. A terrifying place for a young, beautiful woman of limited means. But Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling if respectable conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist's model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil - a born showman whose dream is to run his own theatre company. Devil's right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. Carlo and Devil clash at every opportunity and it constantly falls upon Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button. Mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist which makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew. Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked: the fortune of one depends on the fortune of the other. And as Eliza gets sucked into the seductive and dangerous world her strange companions inhabit, she risks not only her heart, but also her life.
Publisher: New York, NY :, Overlook Press,, 2014.
ISBN: 9781468309904
1468309900
Characteristics: 472 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

a
aliciamarie
Jul 15, 2014

I really wanted to love this book. Liking it is a stretch. I found it hard to get into the characters which made it harder to get into the story.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top