The Jewel

The Jewel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
17
4
3
Rate this:
Violet, a poor girl from the outer city, finds forbidden romance and uncovers brutal secrets when, after three years of training, she is purchased by a royal family as a surrogate mother for royal children.
Publisher: New York, NY :, HarperTeen,, [2014]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780062235794
0062235796
Characteristics: 358 pages.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kolsen2014
Jun 09, 2017

This book is a great dystopian novel - along the same lines of The Handmaid's Tale and the Selection. If you're looking for a book that's approachable to teens but still touches on feminism, women's rights, society, and dystopia - this is it.

w
withthebutterflies
Feb 06, 2017

The Jewel by Amy Ewing
Read and Reviewed by Kristen Harvey

“Hope is a precious thing, isn’t it,” she says. “And yet, we don’t really appreciate it until it’s gone.”

The Jewel is yet another new dystopian teen romancey novel with a really pretty cover. My first thought was oooooh it looks like "the Selection". (Aside from the tiers of government and the pretty dresses, that is were the comparison honestly ends).

The main character, Violet, is somehow gifted with the ability to shape things and make things grow. (See Jenna Marbles Youtube video, How to Care for your Cermet to understand the joke).

Anyways she has this ability which means that when she hits puberty she is snatched away for around four years to hone her skills and train to be a surrogate, because in this fictional society, you can't have babies if you're rich. I'm not sure why.

KH Rating: 4/5

And that is a very grudging 4 stars. Probably should've been like a 2.5 or a 3 but I tend to rate books based on how much I enjoy them, not the literary form or character building.

If you go onto Goodreads and read other people's reviews, you'll see tonnes of shade being thrown at The Jewel. I agree with some of what other readers are saying, such as the "instalove" that Violet and Ash fall into. Like they meet and bam she's all about Ash. A little too swooney for most, but you could take in context that she hasn't really seen much of attractive males since she hit puberty. Don't you remember your first crush? It is all very instalovey, okay.

One character I thought was very interesting was Ash - essentially his is a male prostitute and it as more enjoyable to read his hidden emotions than it was to hear Violet whine about how hard her task was.

So I wasn't blown away by this book but I did enjoy it so I gave it 4 stars. I have high hopes for the sequels, but I'll be borrowing them just in case ;D If you are looking for an easy read, this is one I would give the green light on!

Definitely recommend for fans of The Selection!

Book 6/40
Kristen and Kelsey’s 40 Book Challenge (2017)

Check out Kelsey’s blogs!!!
https://insertlifestory.wordpress.com/
https://ireadwaypastmybedtime.wordpress.com/

Instagram: @kristenandnorman & @gleekfreak777
#kristenandkelseysfortybookchallenge

e
ella_3
Nov 23, 2016

This book was amazing! The plot was very intriguing, and I liked the characters. The book reminded me a lot of the selection series. At the end, there is such a cliff hanger. I Need to read the next book! Would highly recommend!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 25, 2016

The Jewel is a unique story with a plot that deals with a sensitive and debatable topic in our society, which is the norm in a fantastical world. A world where young girls with no wealth, yet magical powers, talent, and the ability to carry and deliver children are sacrificed so that grown women with royal lineage, yet the inability to bear children can carry forward their legacy. This is the story of a strong young lady, Violet, who sets on a journey to leave her unwanted life behind her. Violet is confronted by someone who feels pity for her state of being, as her story hits close to home for this individual. However, whether or not her ‘confidante’ can be trusted makes this one a definite nail-biter. Violet is stuck between acquiring freedom and relationships; one with an old friend who has been with her through thick and thin, and one with a forbidden, newfound love interest who she understands, as he is stuck in a similar situation as her... What will Violet give up? Will Violet’s talent that is appreciated by all save/spare her from the deadly punishments of her daring actions? Star Rating: 4/5 stars
- @moonlite of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

This book is like a spinoff of the Selection series by Kiera Cass. It is centered around a girl who is bought at an auction by the queen. The auction is a way for the queen to buy a surrogate to help continue the royal bloodline. But as the queen’s competitive side continues to take over, she pushes her surrogate to drastic measures. As her powers are being used more and more, it makes her begin to feel extremely weak and fragile. A confidante of the surrogate tells her that every surrogate the queens ever buy usually pass away. This sets off the long quest that the surrogate takes to try to escape from the castle. It was a wonderful book, that was just as good as the Selection series.
- @bookwormanonymous of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

I have read many dystopians but once again the Jewel hasn’t failed to impress! The Auction and Jewel idea is so rich in substance that anything can be done with this plotline. The different levels of characters in the book are also indulging. From the companions to the servants, everyone plays a different role and the book leaves you with a cliffhanger that has you racing to the library to get your sequel. Amy has truly done it this time with her intense storyline and mysterious atmosphere that surrounds the book! Rating 4/5
- @jewelreader of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

LoganLib_Tahnee Jun 21, 2016

This is a beautifully written book that is captivating from the very first page. The exploration of themes such as the loss of innocence though a mix of science and magic is very well written. You will feel the characters emotions and go on this journey with them.

LoganLib_Dove Jun 13, 2016

This book is an excellent YA read. It has all the good qualities of an easy to read YA. The storyline reminds me of Kiera Cass's series.

c
cheech
Apr 17, 2016

I was told that because I loved the Selection series by Kiera Cass, that I would like this series. 'Like' is a huge understatement. It was fantastic! My only issue with it is the cliff-hanger ending. Waiting for the second book to come in now...

LPL_KimberlyL Feb 11, 2016

I was reminded of Lauren DeStefano (The Chemical Garden trilogy, The Internment Chronicles) while reading this first installment as the plot is fairly similar to Wither. If you enjoy dystopian fiction that is full of gorgeous costumes, swoon-worthy male leads, and an undercurrent of dark social commentary, then you will most certainly enjoy this trilogy.

Blue_Cat_835 Jan 19, 2016

Perfect for fans of "The Selection" by Kiera Cass. This story was both intriguing as well as satisfying. It was a real page turner that will not leave you unsatisfied.

m
mkastar
Nov 09, 2015

Fans of The Selection, you have got to read this! It is in no way the same book, but has many aspects that make for a wonderful book. The Jewel is fast-paced, descriptive, and interesting. I was very impressed with this book.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

b
blue_dog_8329
Feb 04, 2017

blue_dog_8329 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Blue_Cat_835 Jan 19, 2016

Blue_Cat_835 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
black_leopard_172
Jun 17, 2015

black_leopard_172 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

r
read04440
Mar 17, 2015

read04440 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
krss
Jun 23, 2015

"GREAT food."
~Annabelle

k
krss
Jun 23, 2015

"Ash, do you honestly think that what they've made you do affects who you are? You are a good person, and don't ever let anyone make you feel differently."
~Violet

k
krss
Jun 23, 2015

I will be obedient, I keep telling myself. I will not complain. And I will get out of here.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top