She-wolves

She-wolves

The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Book - 2011 | 1st ed. --
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

"Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding." --Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds--and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other "she-wolves," as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much--and how little--has changed through the centuries.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, c2011.
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780061430763
0061430765
Branch Call Number: 942.0099 Cas 9254tc 1
942.0099 Cas 9254mm 1
Characteristics: xv, 480 p. : col. ill., maps.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_AhliahB Feb 18, 2019

Fascinating book about the women who ruled England before Queen Elizabeth I's reign. This book was researched with such care, and despite (or perhaps because of) its wealth of knowledge, it remained narrative and exciting in structure. I highly recommend this read for fans of narrative nonfiction, English history (particularly pre-Tudor), and research nerds.

t
templestoweyoga
Jan 28, 2015

Really interesting book if you are interested in pre-Elisabethean history. Specifically, why and how heireditary royalty came about. Helen Castor writing is a mixture of story telling and historic information. It's a pity someone decided they took exception to one comment in her book and defaced the sentence. I will be looking to read more of her histories.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top