How Will You Measure your Life

How Will You Measure your Life

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
From the world's leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator's Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen's The Innovator's Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple's Steve Jobs said "deeply influenced" him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch's The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen's A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen's How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader--student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child--forge their own paths to fulfillment.
Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, c2012.
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780062102416
0062102419
Characteristics: viii, 221 p.
Additional Contributors: Dillon, Karen
Allworth, James

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
readyrisa
Oct 27, 2016

This is a business view of life, not in terms of profit or loss, but more in terms of ideals, ethics, integrity and brutal honesty about yourself, who you are and where you are going. Such deep moral subject matter could be dry and preachy, but Christensen and his co-authors are anything but. They explain their position in a series of theories -- simple ideas that you can use as tools to inspect and apply to your own experience. They avoid simple formulaic answers like you would find in some books and generic principles about success contained in others. This is a book that exposes the theory behind the issues below, the sources of conventional business and management wisdom and offers new ways of thinking about these important issues

r
rennlc
Jan 16, 2013

Quick read touching on the author's experiences in how small businesses have been able to disrupt larger businesses as well as the importance of purpose and family in the grand scheme of a person's life.

s
sharonlp
Jul 07, 2012

A small book packed with a lot of insights to guide us in our personal and professional lives. For instance, the discussion of "hygiene factors" in our jobs - what they are and how they influence job satisfaction - was enlightening. Also an excellent discussion on giving our children opportunities and at what point their extracurricular activities amount to "outsourcing" our responsibility to help them achieve personal growth and independence. Loved it so much we purchased as an ebook (I read it to my husband on a long car ride). Only criticism is that I wish there was more...I'm certain this author has a lot more to say that I would be interested in.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top