Spellwright

Spellwright

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

Nicodemus is a young, gifted wizard with a problem. Magic in his world requires the caster to create spells by writing out the text . . . but he has always been dyslexic, and thus has trouble casting even the simplest of spells. And his misspells could prove dangerous, even deadly, should he make a mistake in an important incantation.

Yet he has always felt that he is destined to be something more than a failed wizard. When a powerful, ancient evil begins a campaign of murder and disruption, Nicodemus starts to have disturbing dreams that lead him to believe that his misspelling could be the result of a curse. But before he can discover the truth about himself, he is attacked by an evil which has already claimed the lives of fellow wizards and has cast suspicion on his mentor. He must flee for his own life if he's to find the true villain.

But more is at stake than his abilities. For the evil that has awakened is a power so dread and vast that if unleashed it will destroy Nicodemus... and the world.

Publisher: New York : Tom Doherty Associates, 2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780765317278
0765317273
Branch Call Number: FIC Charl 9254mv 1
FIC Charl 9254ag 1
Characteristics: 350 p. : map.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
ShamaBole
Dec 13, 2015

I got bored - somehow the writing and characters didn't grab me. I even persevered till page 144 and then gave up. Rather listless writing, with spots of interest. Nico's first lecture, for example. Other than that he just seems a bumbling young man awash in a sea of similar ineptitude.

JCLJaredH Jul 23, 2013

There is much that I loved about Spellwright: Nicodemus’s struggle with his disability (which is more impactful when you realize that Charlton himself is dyslexic); the development of the characters, with all their flaw and strengths; the unique and detailed magic system; the concept that good guys are good and bad guys are bad. Say what you want, but I like the standard fantasy tropes, and Charlton does a good job of infusing new life and perspective into them. More YA in tone than adult, I think both groups will like it. Good for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brent Weeks.

m
Muffinpants
Jan 27, 2011

What I liked about this book was the way the author uses his experience of dyslexia in a positive way - the world of the book is shaped by the magic words used by the characters, so the protagonist's dyslexia affects his spellcasting,not just his spelling. If you read the short bio under the author's picture, you may wonder, as I did, "When does this guy sleep?"

m
misje0607
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic novel, can't wait to read the second one!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top