Three Perfect Liars

Three Perfect Liars

A Novel

Book - 2020 | First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"From the author of Her One Mistake, hailed as "chilling, captivating" by New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda, comes a riveting new suspense novel about three ambitious women whose lives are turned upside down in the aftermath of a horrifyingfire, which destroys a successful advertising agency and threatens to expose a tangled web of lies. Laura has returned to work at Morris and Wood after her maternity leave, only to discover that the woman she brought in to cover for her isn't planning ongoing anywhere. Despite her close relationship with the agency's powerful CEO, Harry Wood, she feels sidelined-and outmaneuvered-as she struggles to balance the twin demands of work and motherhood. Mia was only supposed to be a temporary hire at Morris and Wood, but she's managed to make herself indispensable to everyone. Everyone, that is, except Laura. If people only knew why she was so desperate to keep her job, they might not want her to stay. Janie gave up everything to support her husband and the successful agency he runs. But she has her own dark secret to protect...and will go to any lengths to keep it safe. With signature prose lauded as "breathtaking" and "bone-chilling" by USA TODAY bestselling author Cristina Alger and plenty of shocking twists and turns, Three Perfect Liars is an unputdownable thriller for fans of Watching You and The Couple Next Door"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Gallery Books,, 2020.
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781982139933
1982139935
Characteristics: 330 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
carolefort
Sep 24, 2020

A novel that begins with an advertising firm burning to the ground soon introduces the reader to three women who are directly associated with the inferno. Three Perfect Liars by Heidi Perks is a whodunit that aptly satisfies thriller-lovers’ need for surprises and unrelenting suspense. Laura, a wife and mother, returns to the world of advertising after being on maternity leave. Mia, the woman who temporarily filled her position, has taken over her accounts and her office and will not be surrendering them. It seems that she has an ulterior motive in staying with the company and Laura is secretely investigating her past. Janie, the wife of the CEO of the firm, suspects that either woman may be involved with her husband. And this sets the scene for lies and more lies. Each woman has her reasons for lying and the lies will lead to a deadly fire. The author alternates the narrative between the three women and a police detective who is investigating the crimes. All roads will lead to a shocking ending. I thorouhly enjoyed this original mystery. Highly recommended. Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

d
darladoodles
Aug 14, 2020

The Morris & Wood Advertising Agency is a towering inferno. On the opposite quay a woman watches and watches as a body is carried out. Who is the woman? Who died? The author takes us back in time to eight weeks before the fire when Laura Denney returns from her maternity leave to discover that her temporary replacement, Mia Anderson, has been given a permanent position. Awkward! Harry Wood, charismatic head of the agency, was once Laura's biggest fan. Now he seems to be on Team Mia. Laura also struggles to balance work and home while her husband stays home with baby Bobby. Harry's wife Janie chose to leave her job as a high profile defense attorney when they built the new agency away from London five years ago. She also struggles with the mommy life. All three women give their perspectives in alternating POVs. When they cross paths at a company party three days before the fire, a confrontation erupts affecting all three families. Interspersed between chapters are transcripts of interviews that the detectives are conducting regarding the arson investigation giving us additional insights into the Morris & Wood office politics and motives of our three main characters. I found this to be a compelling read with a satisfying finish. If you like this one, you should also try "The New Girl" by Harriet Walker.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top